Mmmmmm....

Bowtie Pasta Toss

In Uncategorized on February 8, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Ok, so I have been a slacking a little on my cooking but I am up and ready to get started again. My poor little girls have been sick so it has taken up a lot more time. Well, I thought I would start by sharing one of my very favorite recipes. It was actually my very first attempt at cooking a “real” meal when I first got married. It is one of my husbands favorite dishes so I thought I would share it. It is a little time consuming because of all the fresh vegetables, but that is what makes it so good!

I don’t know about you, but I like seeing a list of ingredients before I start a dish, so here you go!

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts or tenderloins, cut in 1 inch cubes ( I think the tenderloins are easier to cut)

1 small box of bowtie pasta

3 cloves fresh garlic, minced

2-3 tbs. olive oil

1 medium yellow squash, sliced 1/4 inch ( I like to use my crinkle cutter from pampered chef to make it pretty 🙂

1 medium zucchini, sliced 1/4 inch

1 red bell pepper, cut in 1/4 inch strips

1 green bell pepper, cut in 1/4 inch strips

1 yellow bell pepper, cut in 1/4 inch strips

1 medium tomatoe, diced

1-2 jars of your favorite red sauce (my fave is Prego 3 cheese)

Fresh grated parmesan cheese to top

First, heat olive oil to medium high heat in large skillet, then add the minced garlic. Saute’ until garlic is tender. Add your cubed chicken and cook until no longer pink. Then add all your vegetables and saute’ until everything is tender. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to box, drain, and set aside. Once you have everything cooked, toss the pasta in with your vegetables and chicken. Cover with sauce and top with parmesan cheese.

It really is pretty simple to cook, but like I said, it takes a while to chop all the veggies if you are an amature like myself. I am still too scared of dicing my little finger right along with the peppers if I go too fast! This meal is full of flavor and very beautiful. I have served it to many friends and haven’t had a complaint yet! I like to serve it will a salad and garlic cheese bread. For the garlic cheese bread you can make your own, or if you feel like cheating, I was really impressed by the frozen Pepperidge Farm garlic cheese bread!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

